A lightbulb moment

I just had the best idea ever! And I’m pretty sure that this time, I’m on the right track.

I realized that I am “connected” to the independent music scene right here in Melbourne. I can definitely write up something about the independent music community and their struggle with getting local support and exposure, or something along those lines.

Of course, I will have to think of a specific issue to focus on, but right now I have a few issues off the top of my head that I know will make an interesting documentary. And I definitely will have more than enough sources to interview, and will be able to do a video documentary, which would have been difficult if I’d gone with my previous option, journalism :\

As for now, I am feeling delighted. I will blog more about this once I have settled on a specific issue!

Articles to read later on to aid in my research:
The Sydney Morning Herald on “Net Neutrality”
Wikipedia on Independent Musicians
LiveWireStyle on an independent musician’s use of online radio

2 Responses

  1. I like your idea. As I have no idea about Australia independent music community, your documentary will let me have a chance to taste them :)

  2. […] with their backs to the wall–there’s built in drama in Vivien’s choice of the independent music community. We’ve all heard in recent months how they are running out of venues because of the draconian […]

Leave a Reply

